The Competition

Maciej Skrzeczkowski wins MA Competition 2023

First prize: Maciej Skrzeczkowski

Second prize: Dmytro Kokoshynskyy

Third prize: Gabriel Smallwood

Laureate: Rodrigo Belío

Prize of the audi­ence: Dmytro Kokoshynskyy

Prize Luigi Ferdinando Tagliavini: Gabriel Smallwood

Maciej Skrzeczkowski

In 2023, MA Festival will host a new edi­tion of MA Competition! During the 60th edi­tion of MA Festival, it is once again the turn of young harp­si­chord play­ers from all over the world to show the best of themselves. 

The MA Competition — start­ed in 1964 — has devel­oped into an unri­valled tal­ent pool as a pres­ti­gious inter­na­tion­al music com­pe­ti­tion. Every year, tal­ent­ed young musi­cians from all over the world enjoy the oppor­tu­ni­ty to engage in dia­logue with pro­fes­sion­al musi­cians in the field of ear­ly music and thus per­fect their artis­tic per­for­mance. MA Competition accel­er­at­ed the inter­na­tion­al careers of many well-known musi­cians, includ­ing Christophe Rousset (°1961), Kristian Bezuidenhout (°1979), Dmitry Sinkovsky (°1980), Jean Rondeau (°1991) and Justin Taylor (°1992).

MA Competition is a unique plat­form for train­ing and pro­fes­sion­al inte­gra­tion of young artists with the aim of dis­cov­er­ing new tal­ent and enabling new encoun­ters. Its unique­ness stems from its place at the heart of MA Festival.

The first round is con­duct­ed dig­i­tal­ly and takes place pri­or to the fes­ti­val. At the same time, the jury and the pub­lic get to know the can­di­dates for the first time via an online stream­ing plat­form. From now on, these online pre-selec­tions in May are there­fore an impor­tant plat­form for the par­tic­i­pants to show­case them­selves to the out­side world. 

The win­ner will receive a cash prize and an invi­ta­tion to per­form at a series of con­certs at home and abroad, includ­ing a place in the next edi­tion of MA Festival, and the chance to record a CD with the inter­na­tion­al­ly renowned label Ricercar.

The jury mem­bers dur­ing this edi­tion are Korneel Bernolet (pres­i­dent), Carole Cerasi, Bertrand Cuiller, Christophe Rousset and Catalina Vicens.